American Society of Magazine Editors

Imagination Awards

Event Information
May 12, 2016

Thank you to our judges... 

Diane Bacha, Editorial Director, Kalmbach Publishing Co.
Stephen Blake, Vice President, Design, Dwell
Beth Brenner, Chief Revenue Officer, Domino Media Group
Beth Buehler, Senior Vice President, Digital, Rodale Inc.
Derek Butcher, Chief Technology Officer, AFAR Media
Alec Casey, Chief Marketing Officer, Trusted Media Brands, Inc.
Julia Cosgrove, Vice President and Editor in Chief, AFAR Media
Amanda Dameron, Editor in Chief and Executive Vice President, Content, Dwell
Jonathan Dorn, Senior Vice President, Digital and Data, Active Interest Media
Kent Ebersole, Vice President and General Manager, Outdoor Group, Active Interest Media
Vince Errico, Chief Digital Officer, Trusted Media Brands, Inc.
Ronan Gardiner, Vice President, Publisher/Managing Director, Men's Health
Brook Holmberg, Publisher, Yankee Magazine
Mike Huffstetler, Executive Vice President, Digital, Domino Media Group
Bryan Kinkade, Publisher, AFAR Media
David A. Lusterman, Publisher, Stringletter Publishing
Lyzy Lusterman, Interactive Services Director, Stringletter Publishing
Laura McLaughlin, Production Director, Dwell
Ryan Payne, Senior Vice President, Marketing, TEN: The Enthusiast Network
Don Peschke, Founder, August Home Publishing
Fred Poust, Senior Vice President, Conference and Business Development, Forbes
Erin Puariea, TOH LIVE and General Manager, Taste of Home Cooking School
Bill Shaw, Chief Revenue Officer, Entrepreneur Media
Jeanne Sidner, Innovation Director, Kalmbach Publishing Co.
Shani Silver, Director of Digital Content, Domino Media Group

The Imagination Awards honor the work of independent magazine media companies and brands. These awards recognize projects and teams that capture the essence of a brand and demonstrate innovative thinking and imaginative tactics, well-defined business objectives, and successful execution and results.
Panels of judges composed of senior executives from independent magazine media brands in the areas of audience, content, digital, events, leadership and revenue will review entries in their respective areas of expertise. No judge shall review the work of his or her own brand or corporate entity. Entries will be judged on the goals, elements and impact of the program. MPA will notify finalists of their selection in April, 2016.
  1. All independent consumer and enthusiast magazines published in the United States are eligible. (Want to know if your brand is considered independent? Ask!
  2. MPA membership is not required.
  3. Digital-only brands are not eligible.
  4. To be considered for a 2016 award, applicants must have completed the project between January 1 and December 31, 2015.
  5. Applicants may submit in multiple categories.
  6. MPA will judge based on both execution and impact.
  7. MPA may extend the award submission deadlines at its discretion.
  8. Self-nomination is encouraged.