American Society of Magazine Editors

ASME NEXT Editorial Workshop 2013

Event Information
November 6, 2013
November 7, 2013
810 Seventh Avenue, 24th Floor
New York, NY 10019
This two-day workshop for junior-level editors covers print and digital fundamentals. The workshop includes sessions on:
assigning and shaping feature stories • managing digital brands • graphic design • magazine photography • display type do's and don'ts • reporting fundamentals • fact checking • copy editing • using social media • editing mobile content
The workshop explores the role of the publisher, provides hands-on training with veteran editors and includes small-group sessions about career building. Attendees come away inspired and informed.
Wednesday and Thursday, November 6 and 7, 2013
ASME Conference Room
810 Seventh Avenue, 24th Floor
New York City
$495 for ASME and ASME NEXT members
$695 for nonmembers
Cost includes complimentary admission to ASME NEXT Talks With Sarah Stillman
Space is limited. Register now. Please complete and return the application to
Confirmed speakers for the ASME NEXT Magazine Workshop include:
  • Lucy Schulte Danziger, Editor in Chief, SELF
  • Jim Nelson, Editor in Chief, GQ
  • Mark Richardson, Editor in Chief, Pitchfork
  • Josh Tyrangiel, Editor, Bloomberg Businessweek
  • D.W. Pine, Design Director, TIME
  • Jodi Peckman, Creative Director, Rolling Stone
  • DeLora Jones Blake, Chief of Reporters, InStyle
  • Lawrence C. Burstein, Publisher, New York
  • Marisa Carroll, Copy Chief, Seventeen
  • Mike Hofman, Executive Digital Director, Glamour
  • Jared Hohlt, Editorial Director, New York
  • Danielle McNally, Senior Editor, Details
  • Luke Mitchell, Writer and Editor
  • Larry Mondi, Deputy Chief of Reporters, Sports Illustrated
  • Barbara O'Dair, Executive Editor, Reader's Digest
  • Lynne Palazzi, Editorial Recruiter, Hearst Magazines
  • Seth Porges, Co-Founder of Cloth for iOS
  • Anne Sachs, Online Editorial Director, Glamour
  • Sarah Stillman, Staff WriterThe New Yorker and National Magazine Award winner
  • Jeff Turrentine, Articles Editor, OnEarth
Additional speakers to be announced soon!