American Society of Magazine Editors

Winners and Finalists Database

Title Year Category Winner or Finalistsort descending Editor
Martha Stewart Living 2006 Design Finalist Martha Stewart, founder, Margaret Roach, editorial director
Esquire 2000 Personal Service Finalist David Granger, editor-in-chief
Popular Science 2004 Feature Writing Finalist Scott Mowbray, editor-in-chief
Saveur 1999 General Excellence Finalist Dorothy Kalins, editor-in-chief
Martha Stewart Living 1997 Design Finalist Martha Stewart, editorial director, Stephen Drucker, editor-in-chief
Vanity Fair 2003 General Excellence Finalist Graydon Carter, editor
Dance Ink 1995 Design Finalist Lise Friedman, editor, J. Abbott Miller, designer
Texas Monthly 1994 Reporting Finalist Gregory Curtis, editor
New Republic, The 1992 Essays & Criticism Finalist Martin Peretz, editor-in-chief and chairman
Georgia Review, The 1990 Fiction Finalist Stanley W. Lindberg, editor
American Demographics 1988 General Excellence Finalist Cheryl Russell, editor-in-chief
Texas Monthly 1987 Design Finalist Gregory Curtis, editor, Fred Woodward, art director
Sciences, The 1985 General Excellence Finalist Paul T. Libassi, editor
Time 1983 General Excellence Finalist Ray Cave, managing editor
Attenzione 1980 Design Finalist John Schlesinger
Newsweek 1977 Visual Excellence Finalist Edward Kosner, editor
Sports Illustrated 2011 Blogging Finalist Terry McDonell, Editor, Time Inc. Sports Group; Paul Fichtenbaum, Managing Editor,; Joe Posnanski, Senior Writer
Scientific American 2011 Single-Topic Issue Finalist Mariette DiChristina, Editor in Chief
American Scholar, The 2012 General Excellence (Thought-Leader Magazines) Finalist Robert Wilson, Editor
Harper's Magazine 2013 Fiction Finalist Ellen Rosenbush, Editor