American Society of Magazine Editors

Winners and Finalists Database

Title Year Category Winner or Finalistsort descending Editor
Entertainment Weekly 2006 Magazine Section Finalist Rick Tetzeli, managing editor
Everyday Food 2005 Design Finalist Margaret Roach, editor-in-chief, Melissa Morgan, executive editor
Newsweek 2003 Reporting Finalist Richard M. Smith, chairman and editor-in-chief, Mark Whitaker, editor
Vanity Fair 2002 General Excellence Finalist Graydon Carter, editor
National Geographic 2000 Photography Finalist William L. Allen, editor, W. Allan Royce, senior assistant editor, illustrations
Condé Nast Traveler 1998 Essays & Criticism Finalist Thomas J. Wallace, editor-in-chief
Sports Afield 1997 General Excellence Finalist Terry McDonald, editor-in-chief and publisher
Nation, The 1995 Essays & Criticism Finalist Katrina vanden Heuvel, acting editor
Vanity Fair 1992 Public Interest Finalist Tina Brown, editor-in-chief
New Yorker, The 1990 General Excellence Finalist Robert Gottlieb, editor
International Wildlife 1988 Photography Finalist Bob Strohm, executive editor
Farm Journal 1986 Public Interest Finalist Lane Palmer, editor-in-chief
Esquire 1984 Design Finalist Phillip Moffitt, editor-in-chief
Forbes 1982 General Excellence Finalist James W. Michaels, editor
Rolling Stone 1980 Service to the Individual Finalist Jann S. Wenner, editor and publisher
Newsweek 1976 Reporting Excellence Finalist Osborn Elliott, editor
Slate 2011 Video Finalist David Plotz, Editor
Martha Stewart Living 2011 Photography Finalist Gael Towey, Chief Creative and Editorial Director; Vanessa Holden, Editor in Chief; Heloise Goodman, Photography Director
Slate 2014 Website Finalist David Plotz, Editor in Chief
Women's Health 2015 General Excellence (Active Interest) Finalist Michele Promaulayko, Editor in Chief