American Society of Magazine Editors

Winners and Finalists Database

Title Year Category Winner or Finalistsort descending Editor
Learning 86 1987 Personal Service Finalist Maryanne Wagner, editor
House & Garden 1985 General Excellence Finalist Louis Oliver Gropp, editor-in-chief
Monthly Detroit 1983 General Excellence Finalist Kirk Cheyfitz
Retirement Living 1978 Service to the Individual Finalist Roy Hemming
Vogue 1974 Visual Excellence Finalist Alexander Lieberman, editor-in-chief
Golf Digest 2011 Leisure Interests Finalist Jerry Tarde, Chairman and Editor in Chief
Men's Health 2012 Public Interest Finalist David Zinczenko, Editor in Chief
W 2013 Photography Finalist Stefano Tonchi, Editor in Chief; Caroline Wolf, Photography Director
Texas Monthly 2014 Leisure Interests Finalist Jake Silverstein, Editor in Chief
Bon Appétit 2015 Design Finalist Adam Rapoport, Editor in Chief; Alex Grossman, Creative Director
The Pitchfork Review 2016 Design Finalist Jessica Hopper, Editor in Chief, Michael Renaud, Creative Director for Winter and Spring, Molly Butterfoss, Art Director for Summer
BuzzFeed News and BBC 2017 Reporting Finalist Ben Smith, Editor in Chief, BuzzFeed
Virginia Quarterly Review 2018 Feature Writing Finalist Paul Reyes, Editor
ESPN The Magazine 2010 General Excellence Finalist Gary Belsky, editor-in-chief
New York 2009 Reviews and Criticism Finalist Adam Moss, editor-in-chief
New York 2008 General Excellence Finalist Adam Moss, editor-in-chief
National Geographic 2006 Photo Portfolio/Photo Essay Finalist Chris Johns, editor-in-chief, David Griffin, senior editor, photography and illustrations
Sports Illustrated 2004 Columns and Commentary Finalist Terry McDonell, managing editor
Audubon 2002 Design Finalist Lisa Gosselin, editor-in-chief (for January/February issue), David Seideman, editor-in-chief
W 2000 Design Finalist Patrick McCarthy, chairman and editorial director, Kirby Rodriguez, art director