American Society of Magazine Editors

Winners and Finalists Database

Title Year Category Winner or Finalistsort descending Editor
Cooking Light 2011 Leisure Interests Finalist Scott Mowbray, Editor
Marie Claire 2012 Public Interest Finalist Joanna Coles, Editor in Chief
TIME 2013 Photography Finalist Rick Stengel, Managing Editor
Virginia Quarterly Review 2015 Reporting Finalist W. Ralph Eubanks, Editor; Paul Reyes, Deputy Editor
New York 2016 Design Finalist Adam Moss, Editor in Chief, Thomas Alberty, Design Director
Bloomberg Businessweek 2017 Reporting Finalist Ellen Joan Pollock, Editor
TMC Pulse 2018 Feature Writing Finalist Maggie Galehouse, Editor
GQ 2010 Magazine Section Finalist Jim Nelson, editor-in-chief
Newsweek 2009 Public Interest Finalist Jon Meacham, editor
Spin 2004 Design Finalist Sia Michel, editor-in-chief, Arem Duplessis, design director
O, The Oprah Magazine 2008 Magazine Section Finalist Oprah Winfrey, founder and editorial director, Amy Gross, editor-in-chief
New Yorker, The 2007 Columns and Commentary Finalist David Remnick, editor
Money 2001 Personal Service Finalist Robert Safian, managing editor
Vanity Fair 2000 General Excellence Finalist Graydon Carter, editor
Sports Illustrated 2010 Photography, Digital Media Finalist Terry McDonell, editor
Rolling Stone 1998 Special Interests Finalist Jann S. Wenner, editor and publisher, Sid Holt, managing editor
Harper's Magazine 1996 Public Interest Finalist Lewis H. Lapham, Editor
American Lawyer, The 1994 Single-Topic Issue Finalist Steven Brill, editor-in-chief and chairman
Rolling Stone 1993 Feature Writing Finalist Jann S. Wenner, editor and publisher
Life 1991 Photography Finalist James R. Gaines, managing editor