American Society of Magazine Editors

Winners and Finalists Database

Title Year Category Winner or Finalistsort ascending Editor
Life 1983 General Excellence Winner Richard B. Stolley, managing editor
Pitchfork 2013 General Excellence, Digital Media Winner Mark Richardson, Editor in Chief
GQ 2018 Feature Writing Winner Jim Nelson, Editor in Chief
National Geographic 2009 Photojournalism Winner Chris Johns, editor-in-chief, David Griffin, director of photography, Kurt F. Mutchler and Susan A. Smith, deputy directors, photography
New Letters 2008 Essays Winner Robert Stewart, editor-in-chief
New Yorker, The 2005 Public Interest Winner David Remnick, editor
Allure 1994 Design Winner Linda Wells, editor-in-chief, Lucy Sisman, design director (for March)
Progressive Architecture 1979 Single-Topic Issue Winner John Morris Dixon, chief editor
Parenting 2003 General Excellence Winner Janet Chan, vice president and editor-in-chief
New Yorker, The 2000 General Excellence Winner David Remnick, editor
Entertainment Weekly 1998 Special Interests Winner James W. Seymore, Jr., managing editor
Harper's Bazaar 1993 Photography Winner Elizabeth Tilberis, editor-in-chief, Fabien Baron, creative director
Outside 2013 General Excellence (Special-Interest Magazines) Winner Lawrence J. Burke, Chairman and Editor in Chief; Christopher Keyes, Vice President and Editor
The Texas Observer in Partnership With Guardian US 2015 Multimedia Winner Dave Mann, Editor in Chief, The Texas Observer; Katharine Viner, Editor in Chief, Guardian US
Atlantic, The 2005 Fiction Winner Cullen Murphy, managing editor
BuzzFeed News 2016 Public Interest Winner Ben Smith, Editor in Chief
Modern Farmer 2017 General Excellence (Special-Interest Magazines) Winner Sarah Gray Miller, Editor in Chief
O, The Oprah Magazine 2007 Leisure Interests Winner Oprah Winfrey, founder and editorial director, Amy Gross, editor-in-chief
Health 1994 Single-Topic Issue Winner Eric W. Schrier, editor-in-chief
Louisiana Life 1983 General Excellence Winner Nancy K. Marshall