American Society of Magazine Editors

Winners and Finalists Database

Title Year Category Winner or Finalistsort descending Editor
Entertainment Weekly 2008 Essays Finalist Rick Tetzeli, managing editor
Cookie 2007 General Excellence Finalist Pilar Guzmán, editor-in-chief
Entertainment Weekly 2006 Magazine Section Finalist Rick Tetzeli, managing editor
Everyday Food 2005 Design Finalist Margaret Roach, editor-in-chief, Melissa Morgan, executive editor
Vanity Fair 2005 Columns and Commentary Finalist Graydon Carter, editor
Book 2003 Fiction Finalist Jerome Kramer, editor-in-chief
Harper's Magazine 2002 Profile Writing Finalist Lewis H. Lapham, editor
Georgia Review, The 1999 Fiction Finalist Stanley W. Lindberg, editor
Yankee 1998 Single-Topic Issue Finalist Judson D. Hale, Sr., editor
Common Boundary 1992 Personal Service Finalist Anne A. Simpkinson, editor
New York Woman 1989 Design Finalist Betsy Carter, editor-in-chief, Ann Kwong, art director
Georgia Review, The 1987 Fiction Finalist Stanley W. Lindberg, editor
New Yorker, The 1981 Essays & Criticism Finalist William Shawn, editor
Newsweek 1978 Essays & Criticism Finalist Edward Kosner, editor
Redbook 1974 Public Service Finalist Sey Chassler, editor-in-chief
Fortune 2011 Design Finalist Andy Serwer, Managing Editor; John Korpics, Creative Director
National Geographic 2012 General Excellence, Digital Media Finalist Chris Johns, Editor in Chief; Bill Marr, Creative Director; Melissa Wiley, E-Publishing Director
Backpacker 2014 Leisure Interests Finalist Dennis Lewon, Editor in Chief
ESPN The Magazine 2015 Reporting Finalist Chad Millman, Editor in Chief
Poetry 2016 General Excellence (Literature, Science and Politics) Finalist Don Share, Editor