American Society of Magazine Editors

Winners and Finalists Database

Title Year Category Winner or Finalistsort descending Editor
Pacific Northwest 1982 General Excellence Finalist Peter L. Potterfield
Nation, The 1979 Reporting Finalist Victor Navasky, editor
BusinessWeek 1975 Reporting Excellence Finalist Lewis H. Young, editor-in-chief
New York 2011 Online Department Finalist Adam Moss, Editor in Chief; Ben Williams, Editorial Director,; Josh Wolk, Entertainment Editor,
5280 2012 Video Finalist Daniel Brogan, Editor and Publisher
National Geographic 2012 News and Documentary Photography Finalist Chris Johns, Editor in Chief
Mother Jones 2013 General Excellence (Literary, Political & Professional Magazines) Finalist Monika Bauerlein and Clara Jeffery, Editors
The Atlantic 2014 Magazine of the Year Finalist James Bennet, Editor in Chief; Scott Stossel, Editor; Bob Cohn, Editor, Atlantic Digital
The New York Times Magazine 2016 Columns and Commentary Finalist Jake Silverstein, Editor in Chief
National Geographic 2018 Photography Finalist Susan Goldberg, Editor in Chief; Sarah Leen, Director of Photography
Wired 2008 General Excellence Finalist Chris Anderson, editor-in-chief
W 2007 Photography Finalist Patrick McCarthy, chairman and editorial director, Dennis Freedman, creative director
Atlantic, The 2005 General Excellence Online Finalist Sage Stossel, senior editor
Harper's Magazine 2003 Public Interest Finalist Lewis H. Lapham, editor
Newsweek 2002 Photography Finalist Richard M. Smith, chairman and editor-in-chief, Mark Whitaker, editor
Human Rights Quarterly 2000 Reporting Finalist Bert B. Lockwood, Jr., editor-in-chief
POZ 1997 General Excellence Finalist Sean O'Brien Strub, founder and executive editor
Harper's Bazaar 1995 Photography Finalist Elizabeth Tilberis, editor-in-chief
Nation, The 1990 Single-Topic Issue Finalist Victor S. Navasky, editor
Esquire 1988 Feature Writing Finalist Lee Eisenberg, editor-in-chief