American Society of Magazine Editors

Winners and Finalists Database

Title Year Category Winner or Finalistsort ascending Editor
The New Yorker 2015 Fiction Winner David Remnick, Editor
Saveur 1996 Special Interests Winner Dorothy Kalins, Editor in Chief
Harper's Magazine 1994 Feature Writing Winner Lewis H. Lapham, editor
Institutional Investor 1983 Reporting Winner Gilbert E. Kaplan
Newsweek 1978 Service to the Individual Winner Edward Kosner, editor
Oxford American 2016 General Excellence (Literature, Science and Politics) Winner Roger D. Hodge, Editor for Spring and Summer, Eliza Borné, Editor for Fall
New York With Narrative 4 2017 Video Winner Adam Moss, Editor in Chief, New York
National Geographic 2008 Photojournalism Winner Chris Johns, editor-in-chief, David Griffin, director of photography
McSweeney's 2007 Fiction Winner Dave Eggers, editor
Rolling Stone 2004 Reporting Winner Jann S. Wenner, editor and publisher, Ed Needham, managing editor
Preservation 1998 General Excellence Winner Robert Wilson, editor
Philadelphia 1993 Special Interests Winner Eliot Kaplan, editor
California 1989 Public Interest Winner B.K. Moran, editorial director
Seventeen 1984 Fiction Winner Midge Turk Richardson, editor-in-chief
Washingtonian, The 1982 Reporting Winner John A. Limpert, editor
Daily Beast, The 2012 Website Department Winner Tina Brown, Editor in Chief, Newsweek and The Daily Beast
Field & Stream 2009 General Excellence Winner Anthony Licata, editor
American Scholar, The 2001 General Excellence Winner Anne Fadiman, editor
Entertainment Weekly 1998 Design Winner James W. Seymore, Jr., managing editor, John Korpics, design director
New Republic, The 1995 Public Interest Winner Martin Peretz, editor-in-chief and chairman, Andrew Sullivan, editor