American Society of Magazine Editors

Winners and Finalists Database

Title Year Category Winner or Finalistsort ascending Editor
Vanity Fair 1987 Photography Finalist Tina Brown, editor-in-chief
Smithsonian 1985 General Excellence Finalist Don Moser, editor
Washington Journalism Review 1983 General Excellence Finalist Phil Keisling
Coal Age 1980 Specialized Journalism Finalist Joseph F. Wilkinson
Redbook 1977 Fiction, Criticism and Belles-Lettres Finalist Sey Chassler, editor-in-chief
GQ 2011 General Excellence (Finance, Technology & Lifestyle Magazines) Finalist Jim Nelson, Editor in Chief
New Republic, The 2012 General Excellence (Thought-Leader Magazines) Finalist Richard Just, Editor
AFAR 2013 Website Finalist Julia Cosgrove, Vice President and Editor in Chief; Davina Baum, Director of Digital Content
Architect 2014 Columns and Commentary Finalist Ned Cramer, Editor in Chief
Foreign Affairs 2015 General Excellence (Literature, Science and Politics) Finalist Gideon Rose, Editor
The Huffington Post Highline 2016 Public Interest Finalist Greg Veis and Rachel Morris, Executive Editors
New York 2017 Multimedia Finalist Adam Moss, Editor in Chief
The New Yorker 2018 Social Media Finalist David Remnick, Editor