American Society of Magazine Editors

Winners and Finalists Database

Title Year Category Winner or Finalist Editor
Life 1985 Public Service Finalist Richard B. Stolley, managing editor
Playboy 1985 Fiction Winner Arthur Kretchmer, editorial director
Time 1985 General Excellence Winner Ray Cave, managing editor
Esquire 1984 Design Finalist Phillip Moffitt, editor-in-chief
National Geographic 1984 General Excellence Winner Wilbur E. Garrett, editor
Regardie's 1984 General Excellence Finalist William A. Regardie
Forbes 1984 Single-Topic Issue Finalist James W. Michaels, editor
National Geographic 1984 Public Service Finalist Wilbur E. Garrett, editor
Science 83 1984 General Excellence Finalist Allen L. Hammond, editor
Geo 1984 Design Finalist David Maxey
New Republic, The 1984 Essays & Criticism Winner Martin Peretz, editor-in-chief and chairman
Scientific American 1984 General Excellence Finalist Dennis Flanagan, editor
Golf Magazine 1984 Service to the Individual Finalist George Peper, editor-in-chief
New York 1984 Service to the Individual Winner Edward Kosner, editor and president
Seventeen 1984 Fiction Winner Midge Turk Richardson, editor-in-chief
American Health 1984 General Excellence Finalist T. George Harris
Harper's Magazine 1984 Fiction Finalist Lewis H. Lapham, editor
New York 1984 Design Finalist Edward Kosner, editor and president
Sports Afield 1984 General Excellence Finalist Tom Paugh
American Lawyer, The 1984 General Excellence Winner Steven Brill, editor-in-chief and chairman