American Society of Magazine Editors

Winners and Finalists Database

Title Year Category Winner or Finalistsort descending Editor
Story 1995 Fiction Winner Lois Rosenthal, editor
Washingtonian, The 1990 Feature Writing Winner John A. Limpert, editor
New Yorker, The 2012 Reporting Winner David Remnick, Editor
The Atlantic 2016 Magazine of the Year Winner James Bennet, Editor in Chief, Scott Stossel, Editor, John Gould, Editor,
New Yorker, The 2005 Reporting Winner David Remnick, editor
Camera Arts 1982 General Excellence Winner Jim Hughes
Horticulture 1976 Visual Excellence Winner Paul Trachtman, editor
Poetry 2011 Podcasting Winner Christian Wiman, Editor; Don Share, Senior Editor; Curtis Fox, Producer; Ed Herrmann, Sound Recordist
The California Sunday Magazine 2017 Photography Winner Douglas McGray, Editor in Chief; Jacqueline Bates, Photography Director
Zoetrope: All-Story 2001 Fiction Winner Adrienne Brodeur, editor-in-chief
Newsweek 1999 Reporting Winner Richard M. Smith, editor-in-chief and chairman, Mark Whitaker, editor
Print 1994 General Excellence Winner Martin Fox, vice president and editor
Time 1981 Essays & Criticism Winner Ray Cave, managing editor
Harper's Magazine 1977 Service to the Individual Winner Lewis H. Lapham, editor
Look 1970 Visual Excellence Winner William B. Arthur, editor
Vogue 2012 Photography Winner Anna Wintour, Editor in Chief; Grace Coddington, Creative Director; Raul Martinez, Design Director
W 2014 Feature Photography Winner Stefano Tonchi, Editor in Chief
Yale Environment 360 2010 Video Winner Roger Cohn, editor, Chad Stevens, filmmaker
City 2004 Photography Winner John F. McDonald, editorial director and publisher, Fabrice Frere, creative director and COO
New Yorker, The 2001 Essays Winner David Remnick, editor