American Society of Magazine Editors

Winners and Finalists Database

Title Year Category Winner or Finalistsort descending Editor
Virginia Quarterly Review, The 2006 General Excellence Winner Ted Genoways, editor
Time 2001 Public Interest Winner Walter Isaacson, managing editor
Virginia Quarterly Review, The 2006 Fiction Winner Ted Genoways, editor
ESPN The Magazine 2003 General Excellence Winner John Papanek, editorial director
7 Days 1990 General Excellence Winner Adam Moss, editor
Esquire 1972 Visual Excellence Winner
Inc. 2014 General Excellence (Special-Interest Magazines) Winner Eric Schurenberg, President and Editor
Bloomberg Businessweek 2016 Single-Topic Issue Winner Ellen Joan Pollock, Editor
New York 2018 Website Winner Adam Moss, Editor in Chief
New York Times Magazine, The 2009 Reporting Winner Gerald Marzorati, editor-in-chief
Atlantic, The 1999 Essays & Criticism Winner William Whitworth, editor
BusinessWeek 1981 General Excellence Winner Lewis H. Young, editor-in-chief
Poetry 2011 General Excellence (Literary, Political & Professional Magazines) Winner Christian Wiman, Editor; Don Share, Senior Editor
National Geographic 2014 Tablet Magazine Winner Chris Johns, Editor in Chief
Newsweek 1982 General Excellence Winner Lester Bernstein
Life 1979 Essays & Criticism Winner Philip B. Kunhardt, Jr., managing editor
Fast Company 2011 Online Department Winner Noah Robischon, Executive Editor; Cliff Kuang, Editor; Linda Tischler, Senior Editor
Bicycling 2009 Public Interest Winner Loren Mooney, editor-in-chief
Gourmet 2004 General Excellence Winner Ruth Reichl, editor-in-chief
American Lawyer, The 1993 Essays & Criticism Winner Steven Brill, president and editor-in-chief