American Society of Magazine Editors

Winners and Finalists Database

Title Year Category Winner or Finalist Editor
Atlantic, The 1986 General Excellence Finalist William Whitworth, editor
IEEE Spectrum 1986 Single-Topic Issue Finalist Donald Christiansen, editor and publisher
Outside 1986 General Excellence Finalist Lawrence J. Burke, publisher and editor-in-chief
Time 1986 Design Winner Ray Cave, managing editor, Rudolph Hoglund, art director
Baltimore 1986 Single-Topic Issue Finalist Stan Heuisler, editor
Institutional Investor 1986 Reporting Finalist Gilbert E. Kaplan, editor-in-chief
Personal Computing 1986 Special Interests Finalist Charles L. Martin, editor
Time 1986 Single-Topic Issue Finalist Ray Cave, managing editor
BusinessWeek 1986 Design Finalist Stephen B. Shepard, editor-in-chief, Malcolm Frouman, art director
Interview 1986 Photography Finalist Gael Love, associate publisher and executive editor
Philadelphia 1986 Personal Service Finalist Ron Javers, editor
Vanity Fair 1986 Fiction Finalist Tina Brown, editor-in-chief
Country Journal 1986 General Excellence Finalist Tyler Resch, editor
Manhattan, inc. 1986 General Excellence Finalist Jane Amsterdam, editor
Popular Mechanics 1986 Special Interests Winner Joe Oldham, editor-in-chief
Discover 1986 Essays & Criticism Finalist Gilbert Rogin, managing editor
Money 1986 General Excellence Winner Marshall Loeb, managing editor, Landon Y. Jones, executive editor
Public Citizen 1986 Public Interest Finalist Elliott Negin, editor
Vogue 1986 Essays & Criticism Finalist Grace Mirabella, editor-in-chief
Interview 1985 Design Finalist Gael M. Love, executive editor, Marc Balet, art director