American Society of Magazine Editors

Winners and Finalists Database

Title Year Category Winner or Finalist Editor
Texas Monthly 1987 General Excellence Finalist Gregory Curtis, editor
Atlantic, The 1987 Essays & Criticism Finalist William Whitworth, editor
European Travel & Life 1987 Design Finalist David R. Breul, editor-in-chief, Jeanne Dzienciol, art director
National Geographic 1987 General Excellence Finalist Wilbur E. Garrett, editor
Texas Monthly 1987 Special Interests Finalist Gregory Curtis, editor
Bulletin of the Atomic Scientists 1987 Single-Topic Issue Winner Len Ackland, editor
Food & Wine 1987 Single-Topic Issue Finalist Ila Stanger, editor-in-chief
New England Monthly 1987 General Excellence Winner Daniel Okrent, editor
New Republic, The 1987 General Excellence Finalist Martin Peretz, editor-in-chief and chairman
Texas Monthly 1987 Single-Topic Issue Finalist Gregory Curtis, editor
BusinessWeek 1987 Public Interest Finalist Stephen B. Shepard, editor-in-chief
Georgia Review, The 1987 Fiction Finalist Stanley W. Lindberg, editor
ARTnews 1986 Public Interest Finalist Milton Esterow, editor and publisher
Glamour 1986 Personal Service Finalist Ruth Whitney, editor-in-chief
Newsweek 1986 Personal Service Finalist Richard M. Smith, editor-in-chief
Texas Monthly 1986 General Excellence Finalist Gregory Curtis, editor
Atlantic, The 1986 Fiction Finalist William Whitworth, editor
Harper's Magazine 1986 Essays & Criticism Finalist Lewis H. Lapham, editor
North American Review, The 1986 Fiction Finalist Robley Wilson, Jr., editor
Third Coast 1986 General Excellence Finalist John Taliaferro, editor