American Society of Magazine Editors

Winners and Finalists Database

Title Year Category Winner or Finalistsort ascending Editor
Sports Illustrated 2005 Leisure Interests Winner Terry McDonell, managing editor
Common Cause 1987 General Excellence Winner Florence Graves, vice president for publications and editor
Esquire 1978 Essays & Criticism Winner Don Erickson, editorial director, Clay S. Felker, editor and publisher
Foreign Policy 2012 Multimedia Winner Susan B. Glasser, Editor in Chief
Texas Monthly 2003 General Excellence Winner Evan Smith, editor
Vanity Fair 1990 Essays & Criticism Winner Tina Brown, editor-in-chief
Esquire 1975 Service to the Individual Winner Don Erickson, editorial director
Zoetrope: All-Story 2016 Fiction Winner Michael Ray, Editor
City 2007 Photo Portfolio Winner John McDonald, editorial director and publisher, Fabrice G. Frere, creative director and COO
Atlantic, The 1998 Public Interest Winner William Whitworth, editor
Harper's Magazine 1995 Essays & Criticism Winner Lewis H. Lapham, editor
Fortune 1988 General Excellence Winner Marshall Loeb, managing editor
W 2006 Photography Winner Patrick McCarthy, chairman and editorial director, Dennis Freedman, vice chairman and creative director
Budget Living 2004 General Excellence Winner Sarah Gray Miller, editor-in-chief
New Yorker, The 2002 Profile Writing Winner David Remnick, editor
Sciences, The 1989 General Excellence Winner Paul T. Libassi, editor
Outside 1987 Essays & Criticism Winner Lawrence J. Burke, publisher and editor-in-chief
Vogue 1971 Visual Excellence Winner
New York 2016 Website Winner Adam Moss, Editor in Chief, Ben Williams, Editor, Digital
Life 1970 Public Service Winner Ralph Graves, managing editor