American Society of Magazine Editors

Winners and Finalists Database

Title Year Category Winner or Finalistsort ascending Editor
BusinessWeek 1992 Single-Topic Issue Winner Stephen B. Shepard, editor-in-chief
National Geographic 1989 Photography Winner Wilbur E. Garrett, editor
Esquire 1987 Fiction Winner Lee Eisenberg, editor-in-chief
Virginia Quarterly Review 2011 Fiction Winner Ted Genoways, Editor
National Geographic 2008 General Excellence Winner Chris Johns, editor-in-chief
New Yorker, The 1975 Reporting Excellence Winner William Shawn, editor, Hoyt Spellman, director of marketing
Los Angeles 2011 Feature Writing Winner Mary Melton, Editor 2012 Personal Service, Digital Media Winner David Zinczenko, Senior Vice President, Editor in Chief; William G. Phillips, Editor
Esquire 2012 Feature Writing Winner David Granger, Editor in Chief
National Geographic 2018 Single-Topic Issue Winner Susan Goldberg, Editor in Chief
Outside 2003 Personal Service Winner Hal Espen, editor
Life 1988 Single-Topic Issue Winner Patricia Ryan, managing editor
Scientific American 1980 Single-Topic Issue Winner Dennis Flanagan, editor
National Geographic 2010 General Excellence Winner Chris Johns, editor-in-chief
AARP The Magazine 2009 Interactive Feature Winner Nancy Perry Graham, editor-in-chief, Julie Feiner, online content producer, Marilyn Milloy, features editor
Wired 2009 General Excellence Winner Chris Anderson, editor-in-chief
Consumer Reports 2004 Leisure Interests Winner Julia Kagan, vice president and editorial director
I.D. 1997 General Excellence Winner Chee Pearlman, editor-in-chief
Antaeus 1980 Fiction Winner Susan Dwyer
Look 1966 National Magazine Award Winner