American Society of Magazine Editors

Winners and Finalists Database

Title Year Category Winner or Finalistsort ascending Editor
Rolling Stone 1988 Photography Winner Jann S. Wenner, editor and publisher
Outside 1984 General Excellence Winner John Rasmus, editor
Science 81 1982 General Excellence Winner Allen L. Hammond, editor
New West 1979 Public Service Winner Jon Carroll
Slate 2011 General Excellence, Digital Media (News & Opinion) Winner David Plotz, Editor
Wired 2012 Reporting, Digital Media Winner Chris Anderson, Editor in Chief; Noah Shachtman, Digital Editor
Texas Monthly 2013 Feature Writing Winner Jake Silverstein, Editor in Chief
Poetry 2014 General Excellence (Literature, Science and Politics) Winner Christian Wiman, Editor, for February, June, September; Don Share, Editor, for November and December
ESPN The Magazine 2006 General Excellence Winner Gary Hoenig, editor-in-chief
Vibe 2002 General Excellence Winner Emil Wilbekin, editor-in-chief
Martha Stewart Living 1995 Design Winner Martha Stewart, editor-in-chief, Susan Wyland, editor
New Yorker, The 1990 Fiction Winner Robert Gottlieb, editor
Discover 1986 General Excellence Winner Gilbert Rogin, managing editor
Zoetrope: All-Story 2012 Fiction Winner Michael Ray, Editor
New York 2014 Website Winner Adam Moss, Editor in Chief; Ben Williams, Editorial Director
Wired 2010 Single-Topic Issue Winner Chris Anderson, editor-in-chief
Virginia Quarterly Review, The 2008 Single-Topic Issue Winner Ted Genoways, editor, Daniel Alarcón, editor
Vanity Fair 2007 Public Interest Winner Graydon Carter, editor
Oxford American, The 1999 Single-Topic Issue Winner Marc Smirnoff, editor
Philadelphia 1970 Specialized Journalism Winner Alan Halpern, editor