American Society of Magazine Editors

Winners and Finalists Database

Title Year Category Winner or Finalistsort ascending Editor
Philadelphia 1994 Public Interest Winner Eliot Kaplan, editor
People 1987 General Excellence Winner Patricia Ryan, managing editor
Life 1970 Public Service Winner Ralph Graves, managing editor
New Yorker, The 2011 Public Interest Winner David Remnick, Editor
American Scholar, The 2003 Essays Winner Anne Fadiman, editor
New Yorker, The 2001 Essays Winner David Remnick, editor
Elle 1987 General Excellence Winner Régis Pagniez, publication director, Karen Anderegg, editor-in-chief
New Yorker, The 1974 Fiction and Belles-Lettres Winner William Shawn, editor
Texas Monthly 2013 Public Interest Winner Jake Silverstein, Editor in Chief
Bon Appétit 2014 Photography Winner Adam Rapoport, Editor in Chief; Alex Grossman, Creative Director; Alex Pollack, Photography Director
New York 2015 Columns and Commentary Winner Adam Moss, Editor in Chief
New York 2017 Magazine Section Winner Adam Moss, Editor in Chief
San Francisco 2018 General Excellence (Special-Interest Magazines) Winner Jon Steinberg, Editor in Chief
New York Times Magazine, The 2010 Reporting Winner Gerald Marzorati, editor
Oxford American, The 2004 Single-Topic Issue Winner Marc Smirnoff, editor
New Yorker, The 1993 Fiction Winner Robert Gottlieb, editor
Esquire 1991 Fiction Winner Lee Eisenberg, editor-in-chief
Rocky Mountain 1982 General Excellence Winner Terence Y. Sieg
Esquire 2005 Feature Writing Winner David Granger, editor-in-chief
Men's Health 2004 Personal Service Winner David Zinczenko, editor-in-chief