American Society of Magazine Editors

Winners and Finalists Database

Title Year Category Winner or Finalistsort ascending Editor
Nation, The 1971 Public Service Winner
Martha Stewart Living 2013 General Excellence (Lifestyle Magazines) Winner Martha Stewart, Founder; Gael Towey, Chief Creative Officer and Editorial Director; Pilar Guzman, Editor in Chief
The New York Times Magazine 2018 Reporting Winner Jake Silverstein, Editor in Chief
Foreign Policy 2010 Blogging Winner Susan Glasser, executive editor, Blake Hounshell, managing editor
New York 2007 Design Winner Adam Moss, editor-in-chief, Luke Hayman, design director
San Francisco 2010 General Excellence Winner Bruce Kelley, editor-in-chief
New Yorker, The 2001 General Excellence Winner David Remnick, editor
Condé Nast Traveler 1999 General Excellence Winner Thomas J. Wallace, editor-in-chief
Glamour 1981 General Excellence Winner Ruth Whitney, editor-in-chief
Vanity Fair 2011 Columns and Commentary Winner Graydon Carter, Editor
National Journal 2005 Columns and Commentary Winner Charles Green, editor
Esquire 2001 Reporting Winner David Granger, editor-in-chief
Sciences, The 2000 Essays Winner Peter G. Brown, editor
New Yorker, The 1998 Fiction Winner Tina Brown, editor
Civilization 1996 General Excellence (100,000 to 400,000 Circulation) Winner Stephen G. Smith, Editor
SmartMoney 1995 Personal Service Winner Steven Swartz, editor
New Yorker, The 1993 Feature Writing Winner Tina Brown, editor
Parents 1988 General Excellence Winner Elizabeth Crow, editor-in-chief
New Yorker, The 1984 Public Service Winner William Shawn, editor
Philadelphia 1982 Service to the Individual Winner Art Spikol, editor