American Society of Magazine Editors

Winners and Finalists Database

Title Year Category Winner or Finalistsort ascending Editor
New Yorker, The 1998 Fiction Winner Tina Brown, editor
Civilization 1996 General Excellence (100,000 to 400,000 Circulation) Winner Stephen G. Smith, Editor
SmartMoney 1995 Personal Service Winner Steven Swartz, editor
New Yorker, The 1993 Feature Writing Winner Tina Brown, editor
Parents 1988 General Excellence Winner Elizabeth Crow, editor-in-chief
New Yorker, The 1984 Public Service Winner William Shawn, editor
Philadelphia 1982 Service to the Individual Winner Art Spikol, editor
National Journal 1979 Specialized Journalism Winner Richard S. Frank
Country Journal and National Lampoon 1975 Visual Excellence Winner Richard M. Ketchum, editor and co-founder (Country Journal), Henry N. Beard, editor-in-chief (National Lampoon)
Esquire 1975 Service to the Individual Winner Don Erickson, editorial director
Zoetrope: All-Story 2016 Fiction Winner Michael Ray, Editor
City 2007 Photo Portfolio Winner John McDonald, editorial director and publisher, Fabrice G. Frere, creative director and COO
Atlantic, The 1998 Public Interest Winner William Whitworth, editor
Harper's Magazine 1995 Essays & Criticism Winner Lewis H. Lapham, editor
Fortune 1988 General Excellence Winner Marshall Loeb, managing editor
W 2006 Photography Winner Patrick McCarthy, chairman and editorial director, Dennis Freedman, vice chairman and creative director
Budget Living 2004 General Excellence Winner Sarah Gray Miller, editor-in-chief
New Yorker, The 2002 Profile Writing Winner David Remnick, editor
Sciences, The 1989 General Excellence Winner Paul T. Libassi, editor
Outside 1987 Essays & Criticism Winner Lawrence J. Burke, publisher and editor-in-chief