American Society of Magazine Editors

Winners and Finalists Database

Title Year Category Winner or Finalistsort descending Editor
Rolling Stone 1998 Special Interests Finalist Jann S. Wenner, editor and publisher, Sid Holt, managing editor
Harper's Magazine 1996 Public Interest Finalist Lewis H. Lapham, Editor
American Lawyer, The 1994 Single-Topic Issue Finalist Steven Brill, editor-in-chief and chairman
Rolling Stone 1993 Feature Writing Finalist Jann S. Wenner, editor and publisher
Life 1991 Photography Finalist James R. Gaines, managing editor
Cosmopolitan 1989 General Excellence Finalist Helen Gurley Brown, editor
Vogue 1988 Design Finalist Grace Mirabella, editor-in-chief, Roger Schoening, art director
Time 1986 Photography Finalist Ray Cave, managing editor
Travel + Leisure 1984 General Excellence Finalist Pamela Fiori, editor-in-chief
American Preservation 1981 General Excellence Finalist James H. Roper
Saturday Review 1979 Public Service Finalist Carll Tucker
Scientific American 1975 Public Service Finalist Gerard Piel
Atlantic, The 2012 Website Finalist James Bennet, Editor in Chief; Bob Cohn, Editorial Director, Atlantic Digital
New Yorker, The 2012 Magazine of the Year Finalist David Remnick, Editor; Pamela Maffei McCarthy, Deputy Editor
Wired 2013 General Excellence (News, Sports & Entertainment Magazines) Finalist Chris Anderson, Editor in Chief
The Hollywood Reporter 2015 Magazine of the Year Finalist Janice Min, Chief Creative Officer
Rolling Stone 2017 Columns and Commentary Finalist Jann S. Wenner, Editor and Publisher; Jason Fine, Managing Editor
ESPN The Magazine 2018 Columns and Commentary Finalist Alison Overholt, Vice President and Editor in Chief
Audubon 2007 General Excellence Finalist David Seideman, editor-in-chief
Atlantic, The 2006 Feature Writing Finalist Cullen Murphy, managing editor