American Society of Magazine Editors

Winners and Finalists Database

Title Year Category Winner or Finalistsort descending Editor
Time 2010 General Excellence Finalist Richard Stengel, managing editor
Texas Monthly 2006 General Excellence Finalist Evan Smith, editor
Virginia Quarterly Review, The 2005 Fiction Finalist Ted Genoways, editor
CNET News 2003 General Excellence Online Finalist Jeffrey Pelline, editor
Los Angeles 2002 Profile Writing Finalist Kit Rachlis, editor-in-chief
Sports Illustrated 2001 Reviews and Criticism Finalist Bill Colson, managing editor
SmartMoney 1996 General Excellence (400,000 to 1,000,000 Circulation) Finalist Steven Swartz, Editor in Chief
Entertainment Weekly 1992 Design Finalist James W. Seymore, Jr., managing editor, Michael Grossman, design director
Town & Country 1991 Personal Service Finalist Frank Zachary, editor-in-chief
IEEE Spectrum 1987 Public Interest Finalist Donald Christiansen, editor and publisher
Georgia Review, The 1985 Essays & Criticism Finalist Stanley W. Lindberg, editor
Money 1983 Single-Topic Issue Finalist Marshall Loeb, managing editor
New Yorker, The 1981 Fiction Finalist William Shawn, editor
Quest/77 1978 Fiction Finalist Robert Shnayerson, editor
U.S. News & World Report 1974 Reporting Excellence Finalist Howard W. Flieger
Cooking Light 2011 Leisure Interests Finalist Scott Mowbray, Editor
Marie Claire 2012 Public Interest Finalist Joanna Coles, Editor in Chief
TIME 2013 Photography Finalist Rick Stengel, Managing Editor
Virginia Quarterly Review 2015 Reporting Finalist W. Ralph Eubanks, Editor; Paul Reyes, Deputy Editor
New York 2016 Design Finalist Adam Moss, Editor in Chief, Thomas Alberty, Design Director