American Society of Magazine Editors

Winners and Finalists Database

Title Year Category Winner or Finalistsort descending Editor
Washingtonian, The 1984 Essays & Criticism Finalist John A. Limpert, editor
American Film 1978 Essays & Criticism Finalist Hollis Alpert
Atlantic, The 1974 Reporting Excellence Finalist Robert Manning, editor
New York Times Magazine, The 2011 Feature Photography Finalist Hugo Lindgren, Editor in Chief
Slate 2012 Website Finalist David Plotz, Editor
Real Simple 2014 General Excellence (Service and Lifestyle) Finalist Kristin van Ogtrop, Editor
Fast Company 2016 General Excellence (News, Sports & Entertainment Magazines) Finalist Robert Safian, Editor in Chief
Texas Monthly 2017 Leisure Interests Finalist Brian D. Sweany, Editor in Chief
The Atlantic 2018 Video Finalist Jeffrey Goldberg, Editor in Chief
Golf Digest 2009 Magazine Section Finalist Jerry Tarde, chairman and editor-in-chief
Good Housekeeping 2008 Personal Service Finalist Rosemary Ellis, editor-in-chief
Glamour 2006 General Excellence Finalist Cynthia Leive, editor-in-chief
GQ 2005 Reviews and Criticism Finalist Jim Nelson, editor-in-chief
Real Simple 2003 General Excellence Finalist Carrie Tuhy, managing editor
BusinessWeek 2001 Best Interactive Design Finalist Bob Arnold, editor
Oxford American, The 2000 Special Interests Finalist Marc Smirnoff, editor
W 1997 General Excellence Finalist Patrick McCarthy, executive vice president and executive editor
Outdoor Life 1995 Special Interests Finalist Vin T. Sparano, editor
Life 1993 Photography Finalist James R. Gaines, managing editor
Art & Antiques 1991 General Excellence Finalist Jeffrey Schaire, editor