American Society of Magazine Editors

Winners and Finalists Database

Title Year Category Winner or Finalistsort descending Editor
The New Yorker 2017 Magazine of the Year Finalist David Remnick, Editor
Aperture 2009 General Excellence Finalist Melissa Harris, editor-in-chief
Aperture 2008 Photojournalism Finalist Melissa Harris, editor-in-chief, Yolanda Cuomo, art director
Zoetrope: All-Story 2008 Fiction Finalist Adrienne Brodeur, founding editor, Francis Ford Coppola, founding editor
Zoetrope: All-Story 2007 Fiction Finalist Michael Ray, editor
Details 2004 Design Finalist Daniel Peres, editor-in-chief, Rockwell Harwood, design director
Men's Journal 2003 Feature Writing Finalist Sid Evans, editor
Oxford American, The 2002 Columns and Commentary Finalist Marc Smirnoff, editor
Esquire 2000 Essays Finalist David Grange, editor-in-chief
Saveur 1999 Special Interests Finalist Dorothy Kalins, editor-in-chief
MHQ: The Quarterly Journal of Military History 1997 General Excellence Finalist Robert Cowley, editor-in-chief
Time 1994 Essays & Criticism Finalist James R. Gaines, managing editor
New Republic, The 1992 Essays & Criticism Finalist Martin Peretz, editor-in-chief and chairman
Glamour 1990 General Excellence Finalist Ruth Whitney, editor-in-chief
American Heritage 1988 General Excellence Finalist Byron Dobell, editor
Time 1987 Essays & Criticism Finalist Jason McManus, managing editor
Scientific American 1985 Public Service Finalist Jonathan Piel, editor
Travel + Leisure 1983 General Excellence Finalist Pamela Fiori, editor-in-chief
Books & Arts 1980 Design Finalist Edward R. Weidlein
Sunset 2011 Blogging Finalist Margo True, Food Editor