American Society of Magazine Editors

Winners and Finalists Database

Title Year Category Winner or Finalistsort descending Editor
Technology Review 2010 Public Interest Finalist Jason Pontin, editor-in-chief and publisher
Scientific American 2006 Single-Topic Issue Finalist John Rennie, editor-in-chief
Vanity Fair 2005 Feature Writing Finalist Graydon Carter, editor
Atlantic, The 2003 Reviews and Criticism Finalist Michael Kelly, editor, Cullen Murphy, managing editor
Rolling Stone 2001 Reporting Finalist Jann S. Wenner, editor and publisher, Robert Love, managing editor
Garden Design 1999 Design Finalist Dorothy Kalins, editor-in-chief, Christin Gangi, art director
Worth 1998 Special Interests Finalist John Koten, editor
BusinessWeek 1992 General Excellence Finalist Stephen B. Shepard, editor-in-chief
Sassy 1991 General Excellence Finalist Jane Pratt, editor-in-chief
New England Monthly 1989 General Excellence Finalist Daniel Okrent, editor
European Travel & Life 1987 Design Finalist David R. Breul, editor-in-chief, Jeanne Dzienciol, art director
Esquire 1985 Essays & Criticism Finalist Phillip Moffitt, editor-in-chief
New York 1981 General Excellence Finalist Edward Kosner, editor and president
Psychology Today 1974 Specialized Journalism Finalist George T. Harris
Virginia Quarterly Review 2011 Fiction Finalist Ted Genoways, Editor
Entertainment Weekly 2012 General Excellence, Digital Media Finalist Bill Gannon, Managing Editor,; Michael Bruno, Assistant Managing Editor,; Chad Schlegel, Assistant Managing Editor,
National Geographic 2013 General Excellence, Digital Media Finalist Chris Johns, Editor in Chief
The Atavist 2015 Reporting Finalist Evan Ratliff, Editor in Chief
Nautilus 2016 General Excellence (Literature, Science and Politics) Finalist Michael Segal, Editor in Chief
Essence 2017 Video Finalist Vanessa K. De Luca, Editor in Chief