American Society of Magazine Editors

Winners and Finalists Database

Title Year Category Winner or Finalistsort descending Editor
Newsweek 2009 Magazine Section Finalist Jon Meacham, editor
O, The Oprah Magazine 2008 Personal Service Finalist Oprah Winfrey, founder and editorial director, Amy Gross, editor-in-chief
New Yorker, The 2007 Profile Writing Finalist David Remnick, editor
Rolling Stone 2006 Profile Writing Finalist Jann S. Wenner, editor and publisher, Will Dana, managing editor
U.S. News & World Report 2005 Personal Service Finalist Brian Duffy, editor
Atlantic, The 2003 Reporting Finalist Michael Kelly, editor, Cullen Murphy, managing editor
GQ 2002 Columns and Commentary Finalist Arthur Cooper, editor-in-chief
Oxford American, The 2001 Special Interests Finalist Marc Smirnoff, editor
Wired 1998 Design Finalist Louis Rosetto, editor and publisher, John Plunkett, creative director
Rolling Stone 1996 Reporting Finalist Jann S. Wenner, Editor and Publisher, Sid Holt, Managing Editor
GQ 1994 General Excellence Finalist Arthur Cooper, editor-in-chief
Atlantic, The 1992 Fiction Finalist William Whitworth, editor
Progressive Farmer 1991 Public Interest Finalist Tom Curl, editorial director
National Geographic 1989 Single-Topic Issue Finalist Wilbur E. Garrett, editor
Esquire 1987 Special Interests Finalist Lee Eisenberg, editor-in-chief
D 1985 Service to the Individual Finalist Lee Cullum, editor
Harper's Bazaar 1994 Photography Finalist Elizabeth Tilberis, editor-in-chief
Atlantic, The 1992 Feature Writing Finalist William Whitworth, editor
National Geographic 1989 General Excellence Finalist Wilbur E. Garrett, editor
Esquire 1987 Single-Topic Issue Finalist Lee Eisenberg, editor-in-chief