American Society of Magazine Editors

Winners and Finalists Database

Title Year Category Winner or Finalistsort descending Editor
Washingtonian, The 1987 General Excellence Finalist John A. Limpert, editor
American Lawyer, The 1982 General Excellence Finalist Steven Brill, editor-in-chief and chairman
Life 1980 Single-Topic Issue Finalist Philip B. Kunhardt, Jr., managing editor
United Mine Workers Journal 1977 Reporting Excellence Finalist Matt Witt, editor
Chronicle of Higher Education, The 2011 Interactive Tool Finalist Jeffrey J. Selingo, Editor; Scott Smallwood, Managing Editor; Ron Coddington, Assistant Managing Editor, Visuals
New York 2011 Profile Writing Finalist Adam Moss, Editor in Chief
Redbook 2012 Personal Service Finalist Jill Herzig, Editor in Chief
Bloomberg Businessweek 2013 Tablet Magazine Finalist Josh Tyrangiel, Editor
GQ 2014 Magazine Section Finalist Jim Nelson, Editor in Chief
Inc. 2015 Magazine Section Finalist Eric Schurenberg, President and Editor in Chief; James Ledbetter, Editor
Popular Mechanics 2016 Personal Service Finalist Ryan D'Agostino, Editor in Chief
Los Angeles 2017 Single-Topic Issue Finalist Mary Melton, Editor in Chief
The Marshall Project with Condé Nast Entertainment and Participant Media 2018 Digital Innovation Finalist Bill Keller, Editor in Chief, The Marshall Project
Runner's World 2009 General Excellence Finalist David Willey, editor-in-chief
Self 2008 Personal Service Online Finalist Lucy Danziger, editor-in-chief
Print 2007 General Excellence Finalist Joyce Rutter Kaye, editor-in-chief
Vanity Fair 2010 Feature Writing Finalist Graydon Carter, editor
Vanity Fair 2006 Columns and Commentary Finalist Graydon Carter, editor
American Scholar, The 2004 Profile Writing Finalist Anne Fadiman, editor
Dwell 2003 Design Finalist Karrie Jacobs, editor-in-chief, Allison Arieff, editor-in-chief (for December)