American Society of Magazine Editors

Winners and Finalists Database

Title Year Category Winner or Finalistsort descending Editor
Byliner 2013 Fiction Finalist Mark Bryant, Editor in Chief
The Atavist 2014 Video Finalist Evan Ratliff, Editor in Chief
VICE 2016 Video Finalist Alex Miller, Global Head of Content
The Hollywood Reporter 2017 General Excellence (Special-Interest Magazines) Finalist Janice Min, President and Chief Creative Officer, The Hollywood Reporter-Billboard Media Group
The California Sunday Magazine 2018 General Excellence (News, Sports & Entertainment Magazines) Finalist Douglas McGray, Editor in Chief; Leo Jung, Creative Director
Harvard Business Review 2010 Podcasting Finalist Adi Ignatius, editor-in-chief, Eric Hellweg, editor,
Paris Review, The 2009 Fiction Finalist Philip Gourevitch, editor
People 2008 General Excellence Finalist Larry Hackett, managing editor
Newsweek 2007 Single-Topic Issue Finalist Mark Whitaker, editor
Teen Vogue 2010 General Excellence Finalist Amy Astley, editor-in-chief
Scientific American 2006 Columns and Commentary Finalist John Rennie, editor-in-chief
Vanity Fair 2005 Columns and Commentary Finalist Graydon Carter, editor
Atlantic, The 2003 Profile Writing Finalist Michael Kelly, editor
Harper's Magazine 2002 Essays Finalist Lewis H. Lapham, editor
Rolling Stone 2001 General Excellence Finalist Jann S. Wenner, editor and publisher, Robert Love, managing editor
Georgia Review, The 1999 Essays & Criticism Finalist Stanley W. Lindberg, editor
Worth 1998 Single-Topic Issue Finalist John Koten, editor
BusinessWeek 1992 Public Interest Finalist Stephen B. Shepard, editor-in-chief
Sciences, The 1991 General Excellence Finalist Peter G. Brown, editor
New York 1989 General Excellence Finalist Edward Kosner, editor and publisher