American Society of Magazine Editors

Winners and Finalists Database

Title Year Category Winner or Finalistsort descending Editor
Atlantic, The 1993 General Excellence Winner William Whitworth, editor
Story 1992 Fiction Winner Lois Rosenthal, editor
American Lawyer, The 1984 General Excellence Winner Steven Brill, editor-in-chief and chairman
Foreign Policy 2011 News Reporting Winner Susan Glasser, Editor in Chief; Colum Lynch, Reporter
National Geographic 2014 Multimedia Winner Chris Johns, Editor in Chief
National Geographic 2010 Photojournalism Winner Chris Johns, editor-in-chief
Atlantic, The 1971 Reporting Excellence Winner
Vanity Fair 2012 Columns and Commentary Winner Graydon Carter, Editor
Glamour 2015 General Excellence (Service and Lifestyle) Winner Cynthia Leive, Editor in Chief
Rolling Stone 2006 Photo Portfolio/Photo Essay Winner Jann S. Wenner, editor and publisher, Will Dana, managing editor
Time 2005 Photo Portfolio/Photo Essay Winner James Kelly, managing editor, Arthur Hochstein, art director
American Heritage 1985 Single-Topic Issue Winner Byron Dobell, editor
Vogue 2013 General Excellence (Service and Fashion Magazines) Winner Anna Wintour, Editor in Chief
Nation, The 2008 Public Interest Winner Katrina vanden Heuvel, editor and publisher
New Yorker, The 2005 General Excellence Winner David Remnick, editor
Saveur 2000 General Excellence Winner Dorothy Kalins, editor-in-chief
Men's Journal 1998 Personal Service Winner Jann S. Wenner, editor-in-chief, John Rasmus, editor
BusinessWeek 1996 General Excellence (Over 1,000,000 Circulation) Winner Stephen B. Shepard, Editor in Chief
Rolling Stone 1995 Photography Winner Jann S. Wenner, editor and publisher, Sid Holt, managing editor
Condé Nast Traveler 1991 General Excellence Winner Harold Evans, editor-in-chief