American Society of Magazine Editors

Winners and Finalists Database

Title Year Category Winner or Finalistsort descending Editor
Vanity Fair 1989 General Excellence Winner Tina Brown, editor-in-chief
Life 1967 National Magazine Award Winner
Vice News 2015 Video Winner Jason Mojica, Editor in Chief; Kevin Sutcliffe, Executive Producer
The New Yorker 2018 General Excellence (News, Sports & Entertainment Magazines) Winner David Remnick, Editor
Atlantic, The 2003 Public Interest Winner Cullen Murphy, managing editor
Harper's Magazine 1994 Fiction Winner Lewis H. Lapham, editor
BusinessWeek 1992 Single-Topic Issue Winner Stephen B. Shepard, editor-in-chief
National Geographic 1989 Photography Winner Wilbur E. Garrett, editor
Esquire 1987 Fiction Winner Lee Eisenberg, editor-in-chief
Virginia Quarterly Review 2011 Fiction Winner Ted Genoways, Editor
Sports Illustrated 2005 Leisure Interests Winner Terry McDonell, managing editor
GQ 1996 Feature Writing Winner Arthur Cooper, Editor in Chief
Sciences, The 1986 Essays & Criticism Winner Paul T. Libassi, editor
Outside 2003 Personal Service Winner Hal Espen, editor
Life 1988 Single-Topic Issue Winner Patricia Ryan, managing editor
Scientific American 1980 Single-Topic Issue Winner Dennis Flanagan, editor
City 2007 Photo Portfolio Winner John McDonald, editorial director and publisher, Fabrice G. Frere, creative director and COO
I.D. 1997 General Excellence Winner Chee Pearlman, editor-in-chief
Antaeus 1980 Fiction Winner Susan Dwyer
Look 1966 National Magazine Award Winner