American Society of Magazine Editors

Winners and Finalists Database

Title Year Category Winner or Finalistsort descending Editor
Zoetrope: All-Story 2004 Fiction Finalist Tamara Straus, editor-in-chief
Fortune 2002 General Excellence Finalist Rik Kirkland, managing editor
New Yorker, The 2001 Reporting Finalist David Remnick, editor
Culturefront 1999 Single-Topic Issue Finalist Jay Kaplan, editor
U.S. News & World Report 1998 Public Interest Finalist James Fallows, editor
New Yorker, The 1996 Personal Service Finalist Tina Brown, Editor
Family Therapy Networker, The 1994 Single-Topic Issue Finalist Dr. Richard Simon, editor
Allure 1992 Design Finalist Linda Wells, editor-in-chief, Lucy Sisman, design director
Newsweek 1991 Single-Topic Issue Finalist Richard M. Smith, editor-in-chief
Life 1989 Photography Finalist Patricia Ryan, managing editor
Atlantic, The 1985 Fiction Finalist William Whitworth, editor
Ebony 1983 Single-Topic Issue Finalist Herbert Nipson, executive editor
Life 1981 Design Finalist Philip B. KUNDHART, Jr., managing editor
Forbes 1978 Visual Excellence Finalist James W. Michaels, editor
American Scholar, The 2011 Essays & Criticism Finalist Robert Wilson, Editor
Golf Digest 2012 Multimedia Finalist Jerry Tarde, Editor in Chief; Sam Weinman, Web Editor
Rolling Stone 2013 Public Interest Finalist Jann S Wenner, Editor and Publisher; Will Dana, Managing Editor
The Texas Observer 2014 Reporting Finalist Dave Mann, Editor
The New Republic 2015 Columns and Commentary Finalist Chris Hughes, Publisher and Editor in Chief; Franklin Foer, Editor
Backpacker 2016 General Excellence (Special-Interest Magazines) Finalist Dennis Lewon, Editor in Chief