American Society of Magazine Editors

Winners and Finalists Database

Title Year Category Winner or Finalistsort descending Editor
Rolling Stone 2012 Feature Writing Finalist Jann S. Wenner, Editor and Publisher; Will Dana, Managing Editor
Fortune 2013 General Excellence (News, Sports & Entertainment Magazines) Finalist Andy Serwer, Managing Editor
Outside 2014 General Excellence (Active Interest) Finalist Christopher Keyes, Vice President and Editor
Texas Monthly 2015 Feature Writing Finalist Brian D. Sweany, Editor in Chief
Esquire 2017 Columns and Commentary Finalist Jay Fielden, Editor in Chief
The New York Times Magazine 2018 Single-Topic Issue Finalist Jake Silverstein, Editor in Chief
Audubon 2007 General Excellence Finalist David Seideman, editor-in-chief
Atlantic, The 2006 Feature Writing Finalist Cullen Murphy, managing editor
Chronicle of Higher Education, The 2005 Reporting Finalist Philip W. Semas, editor-in-chief, William Horne, managing editor
Esquire 2004 Feature Writing Finalist David Granger, editor-in-chief
National Geographic 2003 General Excellence Online Finalist Valerie May, senior editor, new media
San Francisco 2002 Public Interest Finalist Bruce Kelley, editor-in-chief
Forbes ASAP 2000 Essays Finalist Michael S. Malone, editor
Martha Stewart Living 2010 General Excellence, Digital Media Finalist Martha Stewart, founder, Gail Horwood, EVP, digital programing and strategy
Texas Monthly 1997 Public Interest Finalist Gregory Curits, editor
New Republic, The 1995 Public Interest Finalist Martin Peretz, editor-in-chief and chairman, Andrew Sullivan, editor
Washingtonian, The 1992 General Excellence Finalist John A. Limpert, editor
Premiere 1990 General Excellence Finalist Susan Lyne, editor and publication director
Manhattan, inc. 1988 Single-Topic Issue Finalist Jane Amsterdam, editor
Glamour 1986 Personal Service Finalist Ruth Whitney, editor-in-chief