American Society of Magazine Editors

Winners and Finalists Database

Title Year Category Winner or Finalistsort descending Editor
American School Board Journal 1980 Specialized Journalism Finalist David Martin
Ms. 1977 Service to the Individual Finalist Patricia T. Carbine, editor-in-chief and publisher
Real Simple 2011 Magazine Section Finalist Kristin van Ogtrop, Managing Editor
Wired 2012 Magazine Section Finalist Chris Anderson, Editor in Chief
Esquire 2013 Magazine Section Finalist David Granger, Editor in Chief
Fortune 2014 Public Interest Finalist Andy Serwer, Managing Editor
Rolling Stone 2015 Video Finalist Gus Wenner, Head of Digital
Slate 2016 Multimedia Finalist Julia Turner, Editor in Chief
New York 2017 Essays & Criticism Finalist Adam Moss, Editor in Chief
Men's Health 2018 Design Finalist Matt Bean, Editor in Chief
GQ 2010 Reviews and Criticism Finalist Jim Nelson, editor-in-chief
O, The Oprah Magazine 2009 Magazine Section Finalist Oprah Winfrey, founder and editorial director, Amy Gross, editor-in-chief
Paste 2008 General Excellence Finalist Josh Jackson, editor-in-chief
New Yorker, The 2007 Photojournalism Finalist David Remnick, editor, Elisabeth Biondi, director of photography
Saveur 2006 Single-Topic Issue Finalist Coleman Andrews, editor-in-chief
Vanity Fair 2005 Profile Writing Finalist Graydon Carter, editor
Harper's Magazine 2002 Fiction Finalist Lewis H. Lapham, editor
Oxford American, The 2001 Special Interests Finalist Marc Smirnoff, editor
Wired 1998 Design Finalist Louis Rosetto, editor and publisher, John Plunkett, creative director
Rolling Stone 1996 Reporting Finalist Jann S. Wenner, Editor and Publisher, Sid Holt, Managing Editor