American Society of Magazine Editors

Winners and Finalists Database

Title Year Category Winner or Finalistsort descending Editor
O, The Oprah Magazine 2009 Magazine Section Finalist Oprah Winfrey, founder and editorial director, Amy Gross, editor-in-chief
Paste 2008 General Excellence Finalist Josh Jackson, editor-in-chief
New Yorker, The 2007 Photojournalism Finalist David Remnick, editor, Elisabeth Biondi, director of photography
Saveur 2006 Single-Topic Issue Finalist Coleman Andrews, editor-in-chief
Vanity Fair 2005 Profile Writing Finalist Graydon Carter, editor
Harper's Magazine 2002 Fiction Finalist Lewis H. Lapham, editor
Rolling Stone 2001 Profiles Finalist Jann S. Wenner, editor and publisher, Robert Love, managing editor
Field & Stream 1999 Special Interests Finalist Duncan Barnes, editor
Worth 1998 Public Interest Finalist John Koten, editor
Saveur 1996 Design Finalist Dorothy Kalins, Editor in Chief, Michael Grossman, Creative Director
Rolling Stone 1991 Design Finalist Jann S. Wenner, editor and publisher, Fred Woodward, art director
Esquire 1985 Single-Topic Issue Finalist Phillip Moffitt, editor-in-chief
Highwire 1983 General Excellence Finalist Edward Miller
New West 1981 Public Service Finalist William Broyles
New Yorker, The 1978 Essays & Criticism Finalist William Shawn, editor
Prism 1974 Visual Excellence Finalist Charles C. Renshaw
Atlantic, The 2012 General Excellence, Digital Media Finalist James Bennet, Editor; Bob Cohn, Editorial Director, Atlantic Digital
Glamour 2013 General Excellence, Digital Media Finalist Cynthia Leive, Editor in Chief; Mike Hofman, Executive Digital Director
National Geographic 2014 General Excellence (General-Interest Magazines) Finalist Chris Johns, Editor in Chief
Texas Monthly 2015 General Excellence (Special-Interest Magazines) Finalist Jake Silverstein, Editor in Chief, for June; Brian D. Sweany, Editor in Chief, for October and November