American Society of Magazine Editors

Winners and Finalists Database

Title Year Category Winner or Finalistsort descending Editor
New York Times Magazine, The 2012 News and Documentary Photography Finalist Hugo Lindgren, Editor in Chief
New Republic, The 2013 General Excellence (Literary, Political & Professional Magazines) Finalist Chris Hughes, Publisher and Editor in Chief; Franklin Foer, Editor
Bon Appétit 2014 Magazine of the Year Finalist Adam Rapoport, Editor in Chief
The Atlantic 2015 Essays & Criticism Finalist James Bennet, President and Editor in Chief; Scott Stossel, Editor
Poetry 2016 Columns and Commentary Finalist Don Share, Editor
New York 2018 Photography Finalist Adam Moss, Editor in Chief
Atlantic, The 2006 Public Interest Finalist Cullen Murphy, managing editor
Condé Nast Traveler 2005 Photo Portfolio/Photo Essay Finalist Thomas J. Wallace, editor-in-chief, Robert Best, design director
Esquire 2004 Leisure Interests Finalist David Granger, editor-in-chief
National Geographic 2003 Photography Finalist William L. Allen, editor-in-chief, Chris Johns, senior editor, illustrations
Self 2002 Public Interest Finalist Lucy S. Danziger, editor-in-chief
Vogue 1999 Photography Finalist Anna Wintour, editor-in-chief, Ivan Shaw, photo editor
Premiere 1997 Feature Writing Finalist James B. Meigs, editor-in-chief
Harper's Bazaar 1995 Design Finalist Elizabeth Tilberis, editor-in-chief, Fabien Baron, creative director
Atlantic, The 1993 Personal Service Finalist William Whitworth, editor
National Geographic 1990 Design Finalist Wilbur E. Garrett, editor, W. Allan Royce, senior assistant editor, illustrations
European Travel & Life 1988 Design Finalist David R. Breul, editor-in-chief, Jeanne Dzienciol, art director
ARTnews 1986 Public Interest Finalist Milton Esterow, editor and publisher
American Lawyer, The 1984 Reporting Finalist Steven Brill, editor-in-chief and chairman
Audubon 1982 Essays & Criticism Finalist Les Line, editor-in-chief