American Society of Magazine Editors

Winners and Finalists Database

Title Year Category Winner or Finalistsort descending Editor
The New Yorker 2016 Fiction Finalist David Remnick, Editor
BusinessWeek 2009 Public Interest Finalist Stephen J. Adler, editor-in-chief
Domino 2008 Single-Topic Issue Finalist Deborah Needleman, editor-in-chief
City 2007 Photo Portfolio Finalist John McDonald, editorial director and publisher, Fabrice G. Frere, creative director and COO
Chicago 2006 General Excellence Finalist Richard Babcock, editor
Institutional Investor 2004 Reporting Finalist Michael Carroll, editor
New Yorker, The 2003 General Excellence Finalist David Remnick, editor
Time 2002 Reporting Finalist James Kelly, managing editor
Lingua Franca 2000 General Excellence Finalist Jeffrey Kittay, founder and editor-in-chief
Atlantic, The 1998 General Excellence in New Media Finalist Wen Stephenson, editorial director, new media
Rolling Stone 1997 Feature Writing Finalist Jann S. Wenner, editor and publisher, Sid Holt, managing editor
Harper's Magazine 1995 Feature Writing Finalist Lewis H. Lapham, editor
BusinessWeek 1993 General Excellence Finalist Stephen B. Shepard, editor-in-chief
Time 1992 Essays & Criticism Finalist Henry Muller, managing editor
National Geographic 1990 General Excellence Finalist Wilbur E. Garrett, editor
Fortune 1988 Public Interest Finalist Marshall Loeb, managing editor
Atlantic, The 1986 Personal Service Finalist William Whitworth, editor
American Photographer 1984 General Excellence Finalist Sean Callahan, editor
BusinessWeek 1982 Public Service Finalist Lewis H. Young, editor-in-chief
New Yorker, The 1980 Reporting Finalist William Shawn, editor