American Society of Magazine Editors

Winners and Finalists Database

Title Year Category Winner or Finalistsort descending Editor
National Geographic 1995 Reporting Finalist William Graves, editor
Vogue 1992 Special Interests Finalist Anna Wintour, editor-in-chief
PC Computing 1990 General Excellence Finalist Preston Gralla, editor-in-chief
Forbes 1986 Public Interest Finalist James W. Michaels, editor
Golf Magazine 1984 Service to the Individual Finalist George Peper, editor-in-chief
New York 2010 Profile Writing Finalist Adam Moss, editor-in-chief
Life 1982 General Excellence Finalist Philip B. Kundhardt, Jr., managing editor
Rolling Stone 1976 Visual Excellence Finalist Jann S. Wenner, editor and publisher
Bloomberg Businessweek 2012 Design Finalist Josh Tyrangiel, Editor; Richard Turley, Creative Director
mental_floss 2013 General Excellence (Special-Interest Magazines) Finalist Mangesh Hattikudur, Editor in Chief
Health 2014 Personal Service Finalist Clare McHugh, Editor
Powder 2015 Multimedia Finalist John Stifter, Editor
The Marshall Project and ProPublica 2016 Feature Writing Finalist Bill Keller, Editor in Chief, The Marshall Project, Stephen Engelberg, Editor in Chief, ProPublica
Cosmopolitan 2017 Magazine of the Year Finalist Joanna Coles, Editor in Chief; Amy Odell, Editor,
Esquire 2009 Profile Writing Finalist David Granger, editor-in-chief
ESPN The Magazine 2008 Interactive Feature Finalist Rob King, vice president and editor-in-chief, Patrick Stiegman, vice president, executive editor and producer
Country Home 2007 Photography Finalist Carol Sheehan, editor-in-chief, Mary Emmerling, creative director
Foreign Policy 2005 General Excellence Finalist Moisés Naim, editor and publisher
Men's Journal 2004 Feature Writing Finalist Robert B. Wallace, editor-in-chief
Newsweek 2003 Personal Service Finalist Richard M. Smith, chairman and editor-in-chief, Mark Whitaker, editor