American Society of Magazine Editors

Winners and Finalists Database

Title Year Category Winner or Finalistsort descending Editor
New Yorker, The 2002 Feature Writing Finalist David Remnick, editor
Atlantic, The 2000 General Excellence in New Media Finalist Wen Stephenson, editorial director
Outside 1999 General Excellence Finalist Mark Bryant, editor
GQ 1997 General Excellence Finalist Arthur Cooper, editor-in-chief
American Short Fiction 1995 Fiction Finalist Laura Furman, editor, Rolando Hinojosa Smith, guest editor (for Fall)
Rolling Stone 1994 Design Finalist Jann S. Wenner, editor and publisher, Fred Woodward, art director
Boston 1990 Special Interests Finalist David Rosenbaum, editor
Sports Illustrated 1989 Photography Finalist Mark Mulvoy, managing editor
Personal Computing 1987 Single-Topic Issue Finalist Fred Abatemarco, editor-in-chief
People 1985 General Excellence Finalist Patricia Ryan, managing editor
Travel + Leisure 1981 General Excellence Finalist Pamela A. Fiori, editor-in-chief
International Wildlife 1977 Specialized Journalism Finalist John Strohm, founding editor
Texas Monthly 2011 Public Interest Finalist Jake Silverstein, Editor
Bicycling 2012 Magazine Section Finalist Peter Flax, Editor in Chief
McSweeney's 2014 Fiction Finalist Dave Eggers, Editor
BBC News Magazine (US) 2016 Multimedia Finalist Ben Bevington, Online Editor (North America)
The New Yorker 2018 Reporting Finalist David Remnick, Editor
GQ 2010 Mobile Media Finalist Jim Nelson, editor-in-chief
New Yorker, The 2008 General Excellence Online Finalist Blake Eskin, editor
New Yorker, The 2007 Public Interest Finalist David Remnick, editor