American Society of Magazine Editors

Winners and Finalists Database

Title Year Category Winner or Finalistsort descending Editor
T, The New York Times Style Magazine 2008 Design Finalist Stefano Tonchi, editor, Janet Froelich, creative director
Salt Water Sportsman 2007 General Excellence Finalist Sid Evans, editorial director, David DiBenedetto, editor
Virginia Quarterly Review 2010 Photojournalism Finalist Ted Genoways, editor
Atlantic, The 2004 Reviews and Criticism Finalist Cullen Murphy, managing editor
National Geographic Adventure 2002 Photography Finalist John Rasmus, editor-in-chief, Julie
Transition 2001 General Excellence Finalist Kwame Anthony Appiah, editor, Henry Louis Gates, Jr., editor
New Yorker, The 1999 Reporting Finalist David Remnick, editor
Entertainment Weekly 1997 Design Finalist James W. Seymore, Jr., managing editor, John Korpics, design director
U.S. News & World Report 1996 Single-Topic Issue Finalist Merrill McLoughlin, Michael Ruby, Co-Editors
New Yorker, The 1994 Photography Finalist Tina Brown, editor
Harper's Magazine 1992 Essays & Criticism Finalist Lewis H. Lapham, editor
Premiere 1989 General Excellence Finalist Susan Lyne, editor and publication director
National Geographic 1987 Design Finalist Wilbur E. Garrett, editor, Robert W. Madden, assistant director, layout department
Mademoiselle 1985 Fiction Finalist Amy Levine, editor-in-chief
New Yorker, The 1983 Public Service Finalist William Shawn, editor
Progressive Architecture 1981 Design Finalist John Morris Dixon, chief editor
Audubon 1977 Visual Excellence Finalist Les Line, editor-in-chief
Wired 2011 Personal Service Finalist Chris Anderson, Editor in Chief
Field & Stream 2012 Columns and Commentary Finalist Anthony Licata, Editor in Chief
New York 2013 Essays & Criticism Finalist Adam Moss, Editor in Chief