American Society of Magazine Editors

Winners and Finalists Database

Title Year Category Winner or Finalistsort descending Editor
National Journal 2015 Public Interest Finalist Richard Just, Editor; Andie Coller, Acting Editor
Vogue 2016 Website Finalist Anna Wintour, Editor in Chief, Sally Singer, Creative Digital Director
The New York Times Magazine 2017 Feature Photography Finalist Jake Silverstein, Editor in Chief
National Geographic and ProPublica 2018 Reporting Finalist Susan Goldberg, Editor in Chief, National Geographic
Gourmet 2009 Personal Service Online Finalist Ruth Reichl, editor-in-chief, Adam Houghtaling, editorial director
Esquire 2007 Feature Writing Finalist David Granger, editor-in-chief
Gourmet 2006 Photography Finalist Ruth Reichl, editor-in-chief, Richard Ferretti, creative director
Harper's Magazine 2005 Public Interest Finalist Lewis H. Lapham, editor
New Yorker, The 2004 Reporting Finalist David Remnick, editor
Gourmet 2002 Reviews and Criticism Finalist Ruth Reichl, editor-in-chief
Entertainment Weekly 1999 General Excellence Finalist James W. Seymore, Jr., managing editor
Vanity Fair 1998 Essays & Criticism Finalist Graydon Carter, editor
Newsweek 1996 General Excellence (Over 1,000,000 Circulation) Finalist Richard M. Smith, Editor in Chief/President, Maynard Parker, Editor
Family Therapy Networker, The 1994 General Excellence Finalist Dr. Richard Simon, editor
American Demographics 1992 General Excellence Finalist Brad Edmondson, editor-in-chief
Outside 1991 Personal Service Finalist Lawrence J. Burke, publisher and editor-in-chief
Manhattan, inc. 1989 Reporting Finalist Clay Felker, editor
Avenue 1985 Design Finalist Michael Shnayeson, editor, Barbara Lish, art director
Esquire 1983 Fiction Finalist Phillip Moffitt, editor-in-chief
Life 1981 General Excellence Finalist Philip B. KUNDHARDT, Jr., managing editor