American Society of Magazine Editors

Winners and Finalists Database

Title Year Category Winner or Finalistsort descending Editor
IEEE Spectrum 2009 Single-Topic Issue Finalist Susan Hassler, editor-in-chief
Men's Health 2008 General Excellence Finalist David Zinczenko, senior vice president and editor-in-chief
New York Times Magazine, The 2010 Photography Finalist Gerald Marzorati, editor
Gourmet 2007 General Excellence Finalist Ruth Reichl, editor-in-chief
Legal Affairs 2006 Public Interest Finalist Lincoln Caplan, editor & president
New Republic, The 2005 Reviews and Criticism Finalist Peter Beinart, editor
Outside 2004 Leisure Interests Finalist Hal Espen, editor
Time Out New York 2003 Leisure Interests Finalist Cyndi Stivers, president and editorial director, Joe Angio, editor-in-chief
Fortune 2001 General Excellence Finalist John Huey, managing editor
SmartMoney 2000 General Excellence in New Media Finalist Marc Frons, editor and chief technology officer
New Yorker, The 1998 Feature Writing Finalist Tina Brown, editor
Consumer Reports 1996 Personal Service Finalist Joel Gurin, Editorial Director
New Yorker, The 1993 Reporting Finalist Tina Brown, editor
Esquire 1991 Essays & Criticism Finalist Lee Eisenberg, editor-in-chief
Playboy 1988 Essays & Criticism Finalist Arthur Kretchmer, editorial director and associate publisher
Outside 1986 General Excellence Finalist Lawrence J. Burke, publisher and editor-in-chief
Newsweek 1984 Single-Topic Issue Finalist Richard M. Smith, editor
Redbook 1982 Service to the Individual Finalist Anne Mollegen, editor-in-chief
Natural History 1979 Single-Topic Issue Finalist David Ryus
Family Circle 1975 Service to the Individual Finalist Arthur Hettich, editor-in-chief