American Society of Magazine Editors

Winners and Finalists Database

Title Year Category Winner or Finalistsort descending Editor
Slate 2010 Photography, Digital Media Finalist David Plotz, editor
GQ 2009 Photo Portfolio Finalist Jim Nelson, editor-in-chief, Fred Woodward, design director, Jim Moore, creative director, Dora Simosi, director of photography, Anton Ioukhnovets, art director, Krista Prestek, senior photo editor
GQ 2008 Photography Finalist Jim Nelson, editor-in-chief, Fred Woodward, design director
Field & Stream 2007 General Excellence Finalist Sid Evans, editor-in-chief
GQ 2006 Leisure Interests Finalist Jim Nelson, editor-in-chief
Los Angeles 2005 Photo Portfolio/Photo Essay Finalist Kit Rachlis, editor-in-chief, Joe Kimberling, art director
Sports Illustrated 2003 Leisure Interests Finalist Terry McDonell, managing editor On Congress 2001 Best Interactive Design Finalist Dave Rapp, executive editor
Philadelphia 2000 Profiles Finalist Stephen Fried, editor
Harper's Magazine 1998 Fiction Finalist Lewis H. Lapham, editor
Outside 1995 General Excellence Finalist Lawrence J. Burke, publisher and editor-in-chief, Mark Bryant, editor
Atlantic, The 1991 Reporting Finalist William Whitworth, editor
New York Woman 1988 General Excellence Finalist Betsy Carter, editor-in-chief
National Geographic 1986 Design Finalist Wilbur E. Garrett, editor, Robert Madden, assistant director, layout department
Money 1984 General Excellence Finalist Marshall Loeb, managing editor
New Yorker, The 1982 General Excellence Finalist William Shawn, editor
Harvard Business Review 1979 Specialized Journalism Finalist Eliza G.C. Collins
American Heritage 1975 Visual Excellence Finalist Frank H. Johnson and 2011 Multimedia Package Finalist Nick Gillespie, Editor in Chief; Paul Feine, Producer; Drew Carey, "The Price Is Right"
Wired 2011 Magazine of the Year Finalist Chris Anderson, Editor in Chief