American Society of Magazine Editors

Winners and Finalists Database

Title Year Category Winner or Finalistsort descending Editor
The New York Times Magazine 2017 Personal Service Finalist Jake Silverstein, Editor in Chief
Esquire 2010 Feature Writing Finalist David Granger, editor-in-chief
New York Times Magazine, The 2008 Reporting Finalist Gerald Marzorati, editor-in-chief 2007 Interactive Feature Finalist Michael Martin, editor-in-chief
Paste 2010 Reviews and Criticism Finalist Josh Jackson, editor-in-chief
New Yorker, The 2006 General Excellence Finalist David Remnick, editor
Real Simple 2005 General Excellence Finalist Kristin van Ogtrop, managing editor
New Yorker, The 2001 Personal Service Finalist David Remnick, editor
Time Out New York 2004 Personal Service Finalist Cyndi Stivers, president and editorial director, Joe Angio, editor-in-chief
This Old House 1998 Photography Finalist Stephen L. Petranek, editor-in-chief
Esquire 1994 Essays & Criticism Finalist Terry McDonell, editor-in-chief
Washingtonian, The 1993 Personal Service Finalist John A. Limpert, editor
New Yorker, The 1991 General Excellence Finalist Robert Gottlieb, editor
IEEE Spectrum 1989 Single-Topic Issue Finalist Donald Christiansen, editor and publisher
Chicago 1987 Reporting Finalist Don Gold, editor-in-chief
American Lawyer, The 1985 General Excellence Finalist Steven Brill, editor and publisher
Corrections 1983 Public Service Finalist Michael S. Serrill
Esquire 1981 Fiction Finalist Phillip Moffitt, editor-in-chief
D 1978 Specialized Journalism Finalist Wick Allison, publisher and editor
Ms. 1974 Fiction Finalist Ruth Sullivan, editor