American Society of Magazine Editors

Winners and Finalists Database

Title Year Category Winner or Finalistsort descending Editor
Harper's Magazine 1998 Reporting Finalist Lewis H. Lapham, editor
American Lawyer, The 1996 General Excellence (Under 100,000 Circulation) Finalist Steven Brill, Chairman/Editor in Chief;, Karen Dillon, Editor/Publisher
Popular Science 1995 Single-Topic Issue Finalist Fred Abatemarco, editor-in-chief
Milwaukee 1993 Public Interest Finalist Bruce Murphy, acting editor
Atlantic, The 1991 Feature Writing Finalist William Whitworth, editor
Sports Illustrated 1990 Photography Finalist Mark Mulvoy, managing editor
New Yorker, The 1988 Feature Writing Finalist Robert Gottlieb, editor
New Yorker, The 1982 Public Service Finalist William Shawn, editor
IEEE Spectrum 1979 Specialized Journalism Finalist Donald Christiansen, editor and publisher
ArtsCanada 1975 Specialized Journalism Finalist Anne Brodzky
Daily Beast, The 2011 Online Department Finalist Tina Brown, Editor in Chief
Everyday Food 2012 Design, Digital Media Finalist Sarah Carey, Editor in Chief; Kirsten Hilgendorf, Senior Art Director; Beth Eakin, Production Manager; Kellee Miller, Managing Editor
Men's Health 2012 General Excellence (Active- and Special-Interest Magazines) Finalist David Zinczenko, Editor in Chief
DETAILS 2013 Design Finalist Daniel Peres, Editor in Chief; Rockwell Harwood, Creative Director; Nathalie Kirsheh, Design Director
Audubon 2015 Single-Topic Issue Finalist Mark Jannot, Vice President, Content, National Audubon Society; Will Bourne, Executive Editor
Poetry 2016 Essays & Criticism Finalist Don Share, Editor
Seventeen 2018 Personal Service Finalist Michele Promaulayko, Editorial Director; Joey Bartolomeo, Executive Editor
Best Life 2009 Magazine Section Finalist David Zinczenko, editorial director, Stephen Perrine, editor-in-chief
Budget Travel 2008 General Excellence Finalist Erik Torkells, editor
Best Life 2007 Public Interest Finalist Stephen Perrine, editor-in-chief