American Society of Magazine Editors

Winners and Finalists Database

Title Year Category Winner or Finalistsort descending Editor
Forbes 1978 Visual Excellence Finalist James W. Michaels, editor
American Scholar, The 2011 Essays & Criticism Finalist Robert Wilson, Editor
Golf Digest 2012 Multimedia Finalist Jerry Tarde, Editor in Chief; Sam Weinman, Web Editor
Rolling Stone 2013 Public Interest Finalist Jann S Wenner, Editor and Publisher; Will Dana, Managing Editor
The Texas Observer 2014 Reporting Finalist Dave Mann, Editor
The New Republic 2015 Columns and Commentary Finalist Chris Hughes, Publisher and Editor in Chief; Franklin Foer, Editor
Backpacker 2016 General Excellence (Special-Interest Magazines) Finalist Dennis Lewon, Editor in Chief
Garden & Gun 2017 Magazine Section Finalist David DiBenedetto, Senior Vice President and Editor in Chief
New York 2018 Magazine Section Finalist Adam Moss, Editor in Chief
Atlantic, The 2010 General Excellence Finalist James Bennet, editor
IEEE Spectrum 2009 Single-Topic Issue Finalist Susan Hassler, editor-in-chief
Men's Health 2008 General Excellence Finalist David Zinczenko, senior vice president and editor-in-chief
New York Times Magazine, The 2010 Photography Finalist Gerald Marzorati, editor
Gourmet 2007 General Excellence Finalist Ruth Reichl, editor-in-chief
Legal Affairs 2006 Public Interest Finalist Lincoln Caplan, editor & president
New Republic, The 2005 Reviews and Criticism Finalist Peter Beinart, editor
Outside 2004 Leisure Interests Finalist Hal Espen, editor
Time Out New York 2003 Leisure Interests Finalist Cyndi Stivers, president and editorial director, Joe Angio, editor-in-chief
Fortune 2001 General Excellence Finalist John Huey, managing editor
SmartMoney 2000 General Excellence in New Media Finalist Marc Frons, editor and chief technology officer