American Society of Magazine Editors

Winners and Finalists Database

Title Year Category Winner or Finalistsort descending Editor
New York 2010 Profile Writing Finalist Adam Moss, editor-in-chief
American Scholar, The 2009 Fiction Finalist Robert Wilson, editor
Epicurious 2007 Interactive Service Finalist Tanya Steel, editor-in-chief
Field & Stream 2006 Columns and Commentary Finalist Sid Evans, editor-in-chief
Good Housekeeping 2005 General Excellence Finalist Ellen Levine, editor-in-chief
National Geographic Traveler 2004 General Excellence Finalist Keith Bellows, editor and vice president
Outside 2003 Feature Writing Finalist Hal Espen, editor
Zoetrope: All-Story 2002 Fiction Finalist Adrienne Brodeur, editor-in-chief
National Geographic 1995 Reporting Finalist William Graves, editor
Vogue 1992 Special Interests Finalist Anna Wintour, editor-in-chief
PC Computing 1990 General Excellence Finalist Preston Gralla, editor-in-chief
Forbes 1986 Public Interest Finalist James W. Michaels, editor
Golf Magazine 1984 Service to the Individual Finalist George Peper, editor-in-chief
Life 1982 General Excellence Finalist Philip B. Kundhardt, Jr., managing editor
Rolling Stone 1976 Visual Excellence Finalist Jann S. Wenner, editor and publisher
Bloomberg Businessweek 2012 Design Finalist Josh Tyrangiel, Editor; Richard Turley, Creative Director
mental_floss 2013 General Excellence (Special-Interest Magazines) Finalist Mangesh Hattikudur, Editor in Chief
Health 2014 Personal Service Finalist Clare McHugh, Editor
Powder 2015 Multimedia Finalist John Stifter, Editor
The Marshall Project and ProPublica 2016 Feature Writing Finalist Bill Keller, Editor in Chief, The Marshall Project, Stephen Engelberg, Editor in Chief, ProPublica