American Society of Magazine Editors

Cynthia Leive Re-Elected President of American Society of Magazine Editors

April 30, 2007

Cortina, Danziger, Delehanty, Ellis, Schurenberg, Story Join the Board

NEW YORK, NY (April 30, 2007)—Cynthia Leive, editor-in-chief of Glamour  has been re-elected president of the American Society of Magazine Editors (ASME), it was announced today by Marlene Kahan, executive director of ASME.  Leive has served on the board since 2001.

Roberta Myers, editor-in-chief of Elle, has been elected vice president.  Adam Moss, editor-in-chief of New York Magazine, and David Willey, editor-in-chief of Runners World and editorial director of the Rodale Sports Group have been elected secretary and treasurer respectively.  Each ASME officer is elected for a one-year term and can be nominated for a second one-year term.

Betty Cortina, editorial director of Latina, Lucy Danziger, editor-in-chief of Self, Hugh Delehanty, editor-in-chief of AARP the Magazine,Rosemary Ellis, editor-in-chief of Good Housekeeping, Eric Schurenberg, managing editor of Money, and Richard David Story, editor-in-chief of Departures have been elected to the board for two-year terms, and may be re-elected for a second two-year term.

The other members of the board who continue their terms are:  Peter Brown, editor-in-chief of Natural History; Angela Burt-Murray, editor-in-chief, Essence; Peggy Northrop, editor-in-chief, More; Nancy Soriano, editor-in-chief, Country Living; and Jacob Weisberg, editor, Slate. Mark Whitaker remains on the board ex-officio.

Marlene Kahan is the executive director of ASME.

ASME sponsors the National Magazine Awards, the prestigious program that honors editorial excellence in magazines, and the Magazine Internship Program, which places about 40 college juniors at national magazines for ten-weeks each summer. ASME also holds monthly lunches and seminars for members, and a seminar program for junior editorial staffers.  Each fall, it co-sponsors The American Magazine Conference for all publishing executives with Magazine Publishers of America.