American Society of Magazine Editors

Cindi Leive Elected President of American Society of Magazine Editors

May 9, 2006

Burt-Murray, Moss, Northrop, Weisberg, Willey Join the Board

NEW YORK, NY (May 9, 2006)—Cynthia Leive, editor-in-chief of Glamour, has been elected president of the American Society of Magazine Editors (ASME), it was announced today by Marlene Kahan, executive director of ASME. Leive has served on the board since 2001.

Leive was named editor-in-chief of Glamour magazine in May of 2001. Under her watch, Glamour has received a record number of editorial awards, including a National Magazine Award for General Excellence in 2005, three Clarion awards from Women in Communications, and three Front Page Awards from The Newswomens Club of New York.  In 2005-2006, Glamour was also named for the first time to both Advertising Ages A-List and Adweeks Hot List.

Leives work has also been recognized outside the magazine industry.   In 2006, she received a Women in Communications Matrix award; a Champion of Choice award from NARAL-NY for her continued coverage of womens health; and, along with Senator Hillary Clinton and Gloria Steinem, a Lead Her award from Girls Learn International for her activism in bringing Pakistani heroine Mukhtar Mai to the U.S. for the first time.  She has also been named to Crains 40 Under  40 list, GothamsMost Powerful Women Under 40, and appears frequently on TV, with regular appearances on TodayGood Morning America,World News Tonight and others. Prior to joining Glamour, Leive served as editor-in-chief of Self magazine.  Before joining Self, she was deputy editor of Glamour.

Cindi Leive is not only a superb magazine editor but a person who brings tremendous intelligence, energy and integrity to everything she does said Newsweek editor Mark Whitaker, the outgoing president of ASME.   She cares passionately aboutASME and its members, and will be a dynamic leader at a time of pivotal change in our industry.

Im thrilled to have the chance to serve ASME this way, and to follow a smart, decisive leader like Mark is a special honor, said Leive.  I look forward to working with our exceptional board as we continue our efforts to update ASME for the futurewhile making sure it continues to be a strong voice for editorial excellence.

Evan Smith, editor of Texas Monthly, has been elected vice president. Other officers include Roberta Myers, editor-in-chief ofElle, who has been elected secretary, and Adam Moss, editor-in-chief of New York magazine, who is newly elected to the board and will serve as treasurer. Each ASME officer is elected for a one-year term and can be nominated for a second one-year term.

Angela Burt-Murray, editor-in-chief of Essence, Peggy Northrop, editor-in-chief of More, Jacob Weisberg, editor of Slate and David Willey, editor-in-chief of Runners World and editorial director of the Rodale Sports Group have been elected to the board for two-year terms, and may be re-elected for a second two-year term.

Peter Brown, editor of Natural History, and Nancy Soriano, editor-in-chief of Country Living, have been re-elected to the board for a second two-year term.

The other members of the board who continue their terms are:  Alfred Edmond, editor-in-chief of Black Enterprise; Cullen Murphy, former managing editor of The Atlantic Monthly; Martha Nelson, editor, the People Group; Nancy Novogrod, editor-in-chief, Travel + Leisure; and Kit Rachlis, editor-in-chief, Los Angeles magazine. Mark Whitaker remains on the board ex-officio.

Marlene Kahan is the executive director of ASME.